Building Magazine


PEO appoints new president and governing council at AGM

Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO), the licensing and regulating body for professional engineers and engineering in the province, installed Annette Bergeron, P.Eng., MBA, as its 94th president during its annual general meeting (AGM) on April 27, 2013, at the Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre. Ms. Bergeron is the sixth woman to be elected president of the association.

She holds an honours bachelor of science, material and metallurgical engineering, from Queen’s University and a master of business administration from the Schulich School of Business, York University. She has worked as a production engineer at Dofasco Inc.; a lecturer at Queen’s faculty of applied science and engineering and Queen’s school of business; and director, first-year studies, Queen’s engineering. Most recently, she was general manager at Queen’s Alma Mater Society (AMS) Inc. She has also twice served as president and chair of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers.

According to the association, Ms. Bergeron will work with licence holders during her term as president “to ensure that PEO excels in its regulatory mandate of setting standards and governing conduct.”

PEO also introduced its council for the 2013-2014 term. The six women and 23 men on the new council will govern PEO’s 80,000 licence and certificate holders and regulate professional engineering in Ontario to serve and protect the public.

The new leadership group includes province-wide representation from a wide array of sectors, including the business community, industry, academe, and government. The composition and operation of council is dictated by Regulation 941 under the Professional Engineers Act. Most councillors are elected by PEO’s licence holders. Up to 12 councillors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, up to five of whom are not professional engineers.

PEO’s 2013-2014 council comprises:

Annette Bergeron, P.Eng., MBA                               President

Denis Dixon, P.Eng., FEC                                         Past President

J. David Adams, P.Eng., MBA, FEC                          President-elect

Thomas Chong, MSC, P.Eng., FEC, PMP                Vice President (elected)

Sandra Ausma, PhD, P.Eng.                                     Vice President (appointed)

Bob Dony, PhD, P.Eng., FIET, FEC                          Councillor-at-Large

Roydon Fraser, PhD, P.Eng., FEC                             Councillor-at-Large

Roger Jones, P.Eng., MBA, SMIEEE                         Councillor-at-Large

 Sandra Ausma, PhD, P.Eng.                                     Northern Region Councillor

Michael Wesa, P.Eng., FEC                                       Northern Region Councillor

Chris Taylor, MEng, P.Eng., MBA                              Eastern Region Councillor

David Brown, P.Eng., BDS, C.E.T.                             Eastern Region Councillor

Denis Carlos, MBA, P.Eng., FEC                                East Central Region Councillor

Changiz Sadr, P.Eng.  ,FEC, CTP, CTME, ITILv3      East Central Region Councillor

Danny Chui, P.Eng., FEC                                            West Central Region Councillor

Robert Willson, P.Eng.                                                 West Central Region Councillor

Len C. King, P.Eng., FEC                                             Western Region Councillor

Ewald Kuczera, MSc, P.Eng.                                        Western Region Councillor

Ishwar Bhatia, MEng., P.Eng.                                        Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Santosh Gupta, PhD, MEng, P.Eng., FEC                    Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Richard J. Hilton, P.Eng.                                               Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Rebecca Huang, LLB, MBA                                          Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Vassilios (Bill) Kossta                                                   Lieutenant Governor Appointee

James Lee, PhD, P.Eng., FEC                           &nbs
p;         Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Mary Long-Irwin                                                            Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Sharon Reid, C.Tech.                                                    Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Chris D. Roney, P.Eng., BDS, FEC                               Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Tarsem Lal Sharma, PhD, P.Eng.                                 Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Rakesh K. Shreewastav, P.Eng., AVS, FEC                 Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Martha Stauch, MEd                                                      Lieutenant Governor Appointee

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *