Building Magazine


RAIC puts out call for awards submissions

The time has come for architects to submit projects for the RAIC’s various awards program. Architects are invited to enter their work or nominate a colleague or leader in the profession to be recognized for contributions to the built environment. There are a total of 10 awards available that honour a wide range of achievements in the architectural profession. Award recipients are selected by a jury or peer-assessment committee.

The Awards of Excellence, awarded every two years, are: the Advocate for Architecture Award, the Allied Arts Medal, The Green Building Award, The Innovation in Architecture Award, and the President’s Award for Media in Architecture. This year’s deadline is January 8, 2015 before 4:00 p.m. ET.

Also, open for submissions are the RAIC Gold Medal, the Emerging Architectural Practice Award, the Architectural Firm Award, the Young Architect Award, and the Prix du XXe Siècle, awarded in partnership with Heritage Canada The National Trust. The deadline for these awards is January 15, 2015 before 4:00 p.m. ET. 

Recipients of these awards receive either a medal or plaque, and will be announced in spring 2015. The awards ceremony will take place during the RAIC Festival of Architecture taking place June 3-6, 2015 in Calgary.

All awards are by submission except for the Gold Medal, the Advocate for Architecture Award and the Prix du XXe Siècle, which are by nomination. The cost for submission ranges from $0 to $350. For more information about the awards Program and how to submit a project, please visit


Advocate for Architecture

This award celebrates an individual who has made a public contribution to architecture in Canada. Candidates may be found among clients or patrons, educators, public servants, architects, allied professions and others.

Allied Arts Medal

This award honours a Canadian artist or designer for outstanding achievement for art work created to be integrated with architecture.

Green Building

This award recognizes outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play.

Innovation in Architecture

This award recognizes exceptional architectural innovation. Potential areas for innovation include research and development, applied use of new technology and adaptation of existing technology.

President’s Award for Media in Architecture

This award recognizes storytelling about buildings and cities that promotes understanding of architecture and the role of architects in the daily life of Canadians.

Architectural Firm Award

This award is to recognize an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture.

Young Architect Award

This award is to recognize a young architect for excellence in design, leadership and service to the profession.

Emerging Architectural Practice Award

This award is to recognize the principals of an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture.

Prix du XXe Siècle

The Prix du XXe siècle recognizes outstanding and lasting contributions to Canadian architecture, and landmark buildings in the historical context of Canadian architecture.

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *