Building Magazine


Heritage Canada announces award recipients

The Heritage Canada Foundation, a national registered charity dedicated to the preservation of Canada’s historic places, was in a giving mood at the end of October, and handed out several awards in different categories.

16 projects from across Canada were the inaugural recipients of the Ecclesiastical Insurance Cornerstone Awards for Building Heritage. Created to celebrate excellence in the regeneration of heritage buildings and sites in Canada, the new award winners were selected by an independent jury. 

Adaptive Use/Rehabilitation Category:

  • Library of Parliament, Ottawa, ON, Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Chinese Freemasons Building, Vancouver, BC, Joe Y. Wai Architect Inc.
  • McLeod Building, Edmonton, AB, Dub Architects Ltd.  
  • Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis National Historic Site, Quebec, QC, Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Jean-Talon Station/Loblaws, Montreal, QC, Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés, architectes
  • Graham Fire Station #10, Ottawa, ON, CSV Architects  
  • Pacific Central Station, Vancouver, BC, J. Robert Thibodeau Architecture + Design Inc.
  • St. Clement’s Anglican Church, Toronto, ON, Davidson-Langley Inc. Architects  
  • Historic BMO Building, Oakville, ON, ATA Architects Inc.
  • Harbour Commission Building/Club 357c, Montreal, QC, Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés, architectes       
  • Union Bank Tower and Annex/Red River College School of Hospitality and Culinary Arts, Winnipeg, MB, Prairie      Architects Inc.
  • Annette Street Baptist Church/Park Lofts, Toronto, ON, Michael Hatch Designs Ltd.
  • Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site, Quebec City, QC, Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • The Workers Compensation Board Building, Winnipeg, MB, Workers Compensation Board of Manitoba
  • Troop Barn, Kingsburg, NS, MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects.

Infill Category: 

  • Seventh Street Lofts, Dub Architects Ltd.

“These projects are shining examples of historic places given vibrant new life through vision, design, and investment,” said Natalie Bull, HCF’s Executive Director. “With the support of Ecclesiastical Insurance Canada, it is our hope that these annual awards will serve as an inspiration and a benchmark for future projects.” 

Heritage Canada’s most prestigious award is the Prince of Wales Prize for Municipal Heritage Leadership. In keeping with his commitment to architecture, the environment, and inner-city renewal, His Royal Highness agreed to lend his title to the creation of a prize to be awarded annually to the government of a municipality that has demonstrated a strong and sustained commitment to the conservation of its historic places. This year’s recipient is the City of Owen Sound, in southwestern Ontario, which received a message of congratulations from His Royal Highness, The Prince of Wales, during the Awards Ceremony.

The jury selected Owen Sound in recognition of its dedication to preserving heritage buildings and cultural landscapes through a series of policies and programs that include community consultation, tax relief, design guidelines and education. The municipality has demonstrated a commitment to integrating heritage assets into long-term urban revitalization strategies.

This year’s HCF Leadership Awards recognizing individual excellence as well, and was presented to: Mr. François LeBlanc of Ottawa, winner of the Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement in recognition of his 40-year contribution to heritage conservation in Canada and abroad and to Mr. Charles Fairbank III of Oil Springs, Ontario, recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Heritage Conservation at the Provincial Level for his work in preserving and promoting a unique piece of Canada’s industrial heritage: the First Commercial Oil Field. 

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *