Building Magazine


34 new Fellows named for 2014

A Vancouver wood champion, the Toronto designer of a Baha’i temple in Chile, a Halifax historic conservation expert, and a Montréal hospital specialist are among the 34 architects from across Canada to be named 2014 Fellows by the RAIC | Architecture Canada. A truly cross-country representation, they hail from Halifax, Charlottetown, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Guelph, Brandon, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver and Burnaby.

The RAIC College of Fellows bestows Fellowship in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution or distinguished service to the profession or the community. They include LuborTrubka, FRAIC, known for designs utilizing wood, and Graeme Duffus, FRAIC, currently overseeing restoration of Halifax City Hall. Also honoured are Siamak Hariri, FRAIC, of Toronto, partner-in-charge of the Baha’i Temple of South America, and Sylvie Girard, FIRAC, whose portfolio includes the master plan for Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation, which takes place during the Festival of Architecture in Winnipeg, May 28 to 31. It is held by the RAIC in partnership with the Manitoba Association of Architects.

Two internationally renowned architects will receive Honorary Fellowships:

Bjarke Ingels, Hon. FRAIC – The founder of BIG in Denmark has developed a reputation for designing buildings that are innovative and resource -conscious. He will be the keynote speaker during the College of Fellows Convocation ceremony on May 29.

Antoine Predock, Hon. FRAIC Based in Albuquerque, New Mexico, Mr. Predock designed the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, under construction in Winnipeg. He will speak during the Festival’s opening reception on May 28.


2014 Fellows

Prince Edward Island

Howard S. Coles, FRAIC, Charlottetown


Nova Scotia

Ronald George Burdock, FRAIC, Halifax

Graeme F. Duffus, FRAIC, Halifax

Dennis J. R. Ramsay, FRAIC, Halifax



Gavin Affleck, FRAIC, Montreal

Sylvie Girard, FIRAC, Montreal

Harry Yaghjian, FIRAC, Montreal



Anthony Leaning, FRAIC, Ottawa              

Allan Teramura, FRAIC, Ottawa

Phillip H. Beinhaker, FRAIC, Toronto

J. William Birdsell, FRAIC, Guelph

Robert Davies, FRAIC, Toronto

Mariusz T. Gontarz, FRAIC, Toronto

Timothy B. Gorley, FRAIC, Toronto

D. Brian Gregersen, FRAIC, Toronto

Siamak Hariri, FRAIC, Toronto

Clifford Lee Harvey, FRAIC, Toronto

Carol Susan Phillips, FRAIC, Toronto

David Pontarini, FRAIC, Toronto

Kendra Schank Smith, FRAIC, Toronto



Michael J. Cox, FRAIC, Brandon

Jerald D. Peters, FRAIC, Winnipeg

James R. Wagner, FRAIC, Winnipeg



Robert Burnyeat, FRAIC, Saskatoon

Charles Haddon Olfert, FRAIC, Saskatoon

Colin Forsyth Tennent, FRAIC, Saskatoon



Marc Boutin, FRAIC, Calgary

Peter James Streith, FRAIC, Edmonton


British Columbia

Thomas S. Annandale, FRAIC, Vancouver

Martin Brückner, FRAIC, Vancouver

Peter Cardew, FRAIC, Vancouver

Peter Anthony Levar, FRAIC, Burnaby

Foad Rafii, FRAIC, Vancouver

Lubor Tomas Trubka, FRAIC, Vancouver

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *